Harting MT Race - Sunday 6th August 2017

An approximate 10 mile long multi-terrain race over private tarmac lanes, hard gravel tracks and some paths. The route runs up to the top of the Downs, gently down towards Compton, along towards Chalton, up to Ditcham Park School, along part of the South Downs Way and back down to South Harting to finish on the sports field. There are many superb views around the course. Runners World Race rating for our race is 96%.

There will be unique medal given to all finishers (up to the limit of 300) at the end of the finish funnel.

Prizes will be awarded to the overall lady and man and trophies to the 1st to 3rd seniors and veteran catagories (ladies: 18-34 and 35-49; men: 18-39 and 40-55). Also to the 1st in catergories L50-59 and L60+ and M55-64 and M65+)

 

Race entry

 

On-line: For on-line entries (for an extra fee of £1) click on on line entries.

 

Postal entries: Please send completed entry forms with the fee to:-

Tom Frost, 24 Mill Lane, Trotton, Petersfield. GU31 5JP. (we also accept universal entry forms).

 

Entry forms are here and will also be available at some local races or contact the race director below.  

 

Pre-race instructions click here and for map click here.

 

Enquiries

The race director: Tom Frost, 24 Mill Lane, Trotton, Petersfield. GU31 5JP

Tel. 01730 814098; e-mail: tom.frost@westsussex.gov.uk

 

 

The route will be way marked and marshalled at key points. There will be three water stations and every mile will be marked. The route has been measured by a grade two measurer as accurately as practical over the rough ground in places.

The race is to be held on Sunday the 6th August 2017, starting at 10.30am.

 

To allow the course to be cleared and marshals to be freed, runners will be expected to run the majority of the course. Any falling behind the sweeper marshals may be driven direct to the finish or allowed to continue but not as part of the race.

 

Important note: There will be limited medical facilities and hospitals are some way away. Please do not run if you feel unwell.

 

The first three finishers in the 2016 Harting trail race, first home was Julian Manning (centre).

The race headquarters will be at the Sports Field just to the West of the village of South Harting on the B2146 Petersfield to Chichester road, nearest post code: GU31 5QG. Click here for a map showing the location of the race headquarters.
The race start will be a approximate 5 minute walk away: turn left out of the sports field, up the main road and at the top take the lane on the left.

 

Local information

Use at own risk:-

Taxis: A2B Taxis (Petersfield) www.a2btaxispetersfield.co.uk, tel. 01730 239241

Petersfield Taxis: www.petersfieldtaxis.co.uk, tel. 01730 303030

Rogate Cars: www.rogatecars.co.uk, tel. 01730 821044

Midhurst Taxis: www.midhursttaxis.co.uk, tel. 01730 716327

Edwards Private Hire (Midhurst): www.edwards-private-hire.co.uk/taxi, tel.033 0660 0039

 

Food and Drink:-

South Harting pub: The White Hart. Tel. 01730 825124

The Elsted Inn: www.theelstedinn.com, tel. 01730 813662

The White Horse Rogate: www.thewhitehorserogate.co.uk, tel. 01730 821333

 

Accomodation:-

B. & B.: Copper Beeches: www.copperbeeches.net, tel. 01730 826662

B. & B.: The Severals: www.theseverals.co.uk, tel. 01730 821720

B. & B.: Mulberry House: www.rogatebandb.co.uk, tel. 01730 821047

Pub.: The Elsted Inn: www.theelstedinn.com, tel. 01730 813662

Pub.: The Flying Bull, Rake: www.theflyingbull.com, tel. 01730 892285